StandardsAboutContact
The Gulf Tape
Dubai's Soren Investment Buys Istithmar World's 22%

Dubai's Soren Investment Buys Istithmar World's 22%

Clifford Chance confirms Istithmar World PJSC has sold its full 22% stake in Kenya's Gulf African Bank to Dubai's Soren Investment Company and Kenya's Auron Holdings, a deal disclosed 12 May 2026 as Kenya's banking sector reports a profit rebound built on falling funding costs, per bne IntelliNews.

Istithmar World PJSC has exited its 22% stake in Gulf African Bank, selling to Dubai-based Soren Investment Company and Kenya's Auron Holdings, Clifford Chance confirmed on 12 May 2026. The deal's price and the buyers' combined resulting ownership are undisclosed. It lands as Kenya's banks reported an 18% profit rise to $2.4bn despite falling income, per bne IntelliNews.

The Gulf Tape Desk · 3 min read

Istithmar World PJSC has sold its 22% stake in Gulf African Bank — Kenya's leading Sharia-compliant lender — to Dubai-based Soren Investment Company and Kenya's Auron Holdings, Clifford Chance confirmed in a 12 May 2026 release announcing it advised Istithmar World on the exit. The release does not disclose a deal price, Auron Holdings' exact stake, or the buyers' combined resulting ownership of the bank. It lands as Kenya's banking sector posted an 18% rise in aggregate profit to $2.4bn for 2025 even as total income fell, per bne IntelliNews.

The Stake, and Who Bought It

Clifford Chance's announcement identifies only two buyers: Soren Investment Company, a Dubai International Financial Centre-registered investment holding firm, and Auron Holdings, a Kenyan-owned investment firm. The release states Soren's purchase "forms part of a wider stake purchase in Gulf African Bank, with Auron Holdings also acquiring a stake" — language confirming both buyers participated but stopping short of stating either party's resulting percentage. Istithmar World, a Dubai World-linked investment firm, is named as the sole seller; no other exiting shareholder is identified anywhere in the release.

What Clifford Chance Does Not Say

The release does not name Bahrain's Al Salam Bank as a party to this transaction, and it does not state a combined post-deal ownership percentage for Soren and Auron. It describes the International Finance Corporation only as having supported Gulf African Bank "alongside" other investors since its early years — continuing-shareholder language, not language confirming IFC sold anything in 2026. Any claim beyond Istithmar World's confirmed 22% exit to Soren and Auron is not supported by this primary source and should be treated as unconfirmed.

The Earnings Backdrop

The ownership change lands as Kenya's banking sector reports a profit rebound: aggregate bank profit rose 18% to $2.4bn in 2025 even as sector income fell, with the interest banks paid out on deposits and borrowings dropping by roughly a quarter, according to bne IntelliNews. That is a funding-cost story, not a revenue one — profit grew despite banks taking in less money, on bne IntelliNews's reporting. Gulf African Bank's own 2025 results, if and when disclosed separately, would show whether it tracked the sector-wide pattern.

What to Watch

The confirmable next steps are Gulf African Bank's own ownership disclosures once filed, any Kenyan regulatory clearance record (not mentioned in the Clifford Chance release and not independently verified here), and whether Soren Investment Company or Auron Holdings pursue further East African banking stakes. Until Gulf African Bank or its regulators publish the resulting shareholder register, the size of Soren's and Auron's combined holding — and whether IFC's stake changed at all — remains undisclosed rather than confirmed at any specific figure.

What did Istithmar World sell, and to whom?
Istithmar World PJSC sold its 22% stake in Gulf African Bank to Dubai-based Soren Investment Company and Kenya's Auron Holdings, Clifford Chance confirmed on 12 May 2026, having advised Istithmar World on the exit.
Was Al Salam Bank or the IFC a seller in this deal?
No. Clifford Chance's announcement names only Istithmar World as the selling shareholder; it describes IFC as a continuing shareholder "alongside" the bank's other backers, not as a party divesting in this transaction, and does not mention Al Salam Bank at all.
How does this connect to Kenya's wider banking-sector earnings?
The stake sale is reported as Kenya's banks posted an 18% rise in aggregate profit to $2.4bn for 2025 even as income fell, with interest expense down roughly a quarter, per bne IntelliNews — the earnings backdrop Soren and Auron are now buying into.
  1. Kenya's banks lift profit 18% to $2.4bn as their income falls — bne IntelliNews
  2. Clifford Chance advises Istithmar World PJSC on sale of stake in Gulf African Bank — Clifford Chance